Sweet Sunday

June 10, 2012 § 6 Comments

I’m afraid my first Sweet Sunday is going to lack that of any sweets. I figured I’d use today to recap a little something my husband and I are embarking on.

One day, I surveyed my eating habits. I generally wouldn’t consider myself an unhealthy person. I buy organic when it’s necessary (meats and fruits/veggies in which the skin is consumed), I use healthy cooking methods, and processed foods are kept at a minimum. But then I had the pleasure of reading all about our sugar intake and how when in excess, it’s quite dangerous. So here’s a typical day for me:

Cinnamon Raisin Oatmeal (10 grams of sugar)

Yogurt snack (12 grams of sugar)

Tuna sandwich for lunch (1 gram of sugar in the mayo, 3 grams in the bread)

Snicker doodle cookies for dessert (16 grams of sugar)

Apple (15 grams of sugar)

Homemade burgers for dinner (15 grams of sugar in the BBQ sauce, 3 grams in the buns)

Total grams of sugar: 71 (and that’s my healthy day!)

Ever since then, all I see is sugar, and I swear anything I eat with sugar in it makes me sick to my stomach. John loves his sugary morning cereals (and I’ll admit, I do too), and those cereal companies are so good at telling you how high in vitamins and minerals it is. Guess what the number one ingredient is in Fruit Loops? SUGAR. That’s 12 grams in one serving (one cup)- and you know that no one has just one cup of cereal in the morning. One cup barely fills half of your bowl.

Anyway, I could go on and on about this all day, but fact of the matter is- it’s good to lower your intake of sugar, especially when sugar is in just about everything.

So my husband and I are going on a three week sugar fast (the few exceptions will be natural sugars found in fruits and vegetables, a bit of honey I’ll be using in some baked goods) and I am going on the GAPS diet. I’m not allergic to any foods, but my digestive system has been feeling under the weather as of late. I’m not sure if it’s due to all the sugars, or instead the lack of bacteria in my system. So I’m trying both of these at the same time (*gulmp*). As we cut out sugar, we’re also cutting out caffeine.

We understand… we’re going to get headaches, stomach aches, and our bodies are going to crave sugar like never before. But we’re going to keep each other accountable and try our best to say no to sweets. I meant to get a picture of us last night at Chili’s as we celebrated our last day of sugar. We got that delicious chocolate lava cake with the ice cream. Oh yum.

Because I still want to share a recipe today, and because I had to make it since the processed kind has sugar in it- Homemade Mayonnaise.

Image by SimpleBites

I know mayo isn’t good for you- but I need it in my egg salad and tuna sandwiches. The recipe is found here: http://www.simplebites.net/back-to-cooking-school-homemade-mayonnaise-vlog/

Have all ingredients at room temperature.

  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 1 Tablespoon Dijon mustard
  • 1 Tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1 Tablespoon white wine vinegar
  • 1 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 cup grape-seed oil or peanut oil
  • Salt and pepper (to taste)

1. In a blender or food processor, add egg yolk, Dijon, lemon juice and vinegar. Blend to combine.
2. With the blender running, 
slowly add the olive oil into the mixture, drop by drop at first, then slowly in a thin, steady stream.
3. Continue until the mixture is thick and emulsified, and both oils are fully incorporated.  Mixture should be creamy and the consistency of sour cream. Season with salt and pepper to taste.
4. Transfer to a clean jar with a lid.  Store in the refrigerator for up to 2 weeks.

 

If you’re going grain or sugar free, I’m compiling some recipes on Pinterest. Take a look: http://pinterest.com/creativemelody/it-s-healthy-time/

With that, I sign off to go boil a whole chicken and make a bunch of broth. Oh, what have I turned into?

§ 6 Responses to Sweet Sunday

  • Jennifer says:

    Good for you guys! John and I talked about this last week. When sugar is the first ingredient that means there is more sugar than anything else, so you might as well just be eating sugar! When you crave sugar try eating a grapefruit, takes the craving away. Good luck in your endevour!

    • Exactly! Tonight we ran to the store to get some more oil, and decided to pick up a snack. John stomped around the store shouting- There’s sugar in this?! at just about everything. I find alternative sweets (grapefruit is GREAT!). Last night, I fried up some apples in cinnamon. John said mom used to make that for you guys. In a few nights I’ll be making coconut flour pancakes with strawberry syrup. Yep- strawberry syrup that has not added sugar! I’m excited. 🙂

      • Jennifer says:

        What you said about John sounds like Dan! It is amazing how many things have sugar in them. We like to make fruit syrup too. You will have to let me know how it turns out! You should look into Nutiva Coconut Oil – SO good and super healthy for you! When the kids start eating solids I like to mix it in with there food for extra healthy fats. I have also baked with agave nectar and honey and there really isn’t much difference in the taste, but it does change the texture of things. Both those things do have “bad” qualities about them but they are not nearly as bad for you as refined sugar. You will have to post more on here about your sugar fast! keep writing I enjoy reading what you have to say, makes me feel a little more connected to you even though we are thousands of miles apart!

      • That’s what I’ve heard about the agave nectar and honey. I purchased some honey this last week that I’m going to try to use as a substitute. Seems like a good alternative to me! Or at least a better one! 🙂 Thanks for reading! It makes me feel connected as well.

  • Aunt Pam says:

    Potatoes, corn, and grains turn to sugar as you digest and use them. It is almost impossible to find a carbohydrate from the red family of colors without sugar in it. Anywhere from beets to carrots to rice. So don’t worry about getting rid of all the obvious kinds of sugar. Your brain needs sugar and protein more than any other nutrient. My first elimination was processed cereals. Whole grains are so much tastier and stay with you all morning. You don’t get that sudden sugar drop before lunch. A rule of thumb for controlling sugar is to just be sure it’s at least number five on the list of ingredients or lower. That really keeps it down. Love you!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sweet Sunday at The Finicky Designer.

meta

