Confessions of a Sugarholic

June 16, 2012 § 3 Comments

Oh, this past week has been an exciting one. I’ve almost concluded that being gluten and sugar free all at once is a poor, poor idea. And why I took this on during the busiest season of my life, I don’t know! And did I ever have to think I’d deal with a frantic husband, calling me to say he forgot his lunch and has no where to eat because every single fast food place has sugar in their meals?

Getting home late at 8 on Tuesday is really when it all hit me. I had attended Yoga right after work, and that kicked my butt. Then I went straight from yoga to a… place… that I cannot yet disclose. Didn’t leave there until 8! So here we are, grumpy and hungry, and we would like to eat dinner before 9 pm. Salad! Nope, didn’t make the dressing, and I really don’t feel like making it right now. Pasta! Okay, I have some gluten free pasta on hand- but no sauce because of sugar. Okay so I’ll throw some mushrooms and leftover chicken into a skillet and make a creamy mushroom sauce. Vegetable! Screw it. Bread! But I didn’t make any that’s gluten free. Screw that too.

*Finishing up dinner at 8:50 pm* John: “What’s for dessert?”

Me: “Applesauce.”

John: “…”

Me: “Oh, shut up!”

And here’s where I confess all the sweets I’ve had this past week: A little bit of honey in my oatmeal in the morning (pretend you don’t know that oatmeal isn’t gluten free), some honey in my carrot cake cupcakes (those are gluten free!), and a dollop on barbeque sauce with my turkey burger. Oh, and a chocolate cupcake and Starbucks frappuccino (listen, we had friends over, and it’s rude not to eat what they brought).

Not bad, right? Right?

Yep, it’s true- crackers and broth have sugar.

…replaced with:

Note: I dislike gluten free pasta very much. And sugar-free jelly. That jelly is now the dog’s.

And now my kitchen is officially equipped with a yogurt maker and 8 lbs of coconut flour! As far as the question of do I feel any different is concerned: I do feel more energetic, but I’m not sure if that’s just because I need to be with all that’s happening in my life right now as well as with all that’s happening at work, or it’s actually because my body is processing the food I eat into actual energy and not just busy converting the sugars I eat into fat. I also have had quite a few pretty extreme sugar cravings, but I had those before I was off of sugar too. So who the heck knows!

Random fact about me (that I just now realized): I have a tendency to stick my face in very hot places while cooking. For example, right when I open the oven, I’ll shove my face right into that burst of heat pouring out of it. Or when I go to check the doneness of my steamed vegetables, I’ll lift the lid and stick my face right into the cloud of scorching steam billowing from the pot. It’s a miracle I haven’t burned my eyebrows and eyelashes off.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Confessions of a Sugarholic

  • Jennifer says:

    This put a smile on my face! I did want to say though, you shouldn’t cut so much out all at once because it can mess your body up. Alos, if you are not gluten intolerant and you cut it out completely you can make yourself intolerante to it. Wish we lived closer together so we could do this together! keep up the good work!

    • Yeah, I’m trying to be careful about both. My digestive system has been just… well, let’s say “off” this past year, and I really don’t feel like taking pills or scoops of poor flavored fiber the rest of my life; so I’m hoping the gluten free diet will bring my system back to normal. I’m actually following the GAPS diet that eliminates gluten and increases your body’s bacteria to heal your intestines. That being said- I’m kind of doing a mild version of it. I don’t think I could cut wheat out completely. I know something you’d like- Ezekiel 4:9 bread. It’s made with all of the ingredients from Ezekiel 4:9, their theory being that if God said to make bread that way, we should make bread that way! Interesting concept- but it does contain wheat, just sprouted wheat which is apparently easier to digest. It’s, of course, more expensive, and definitely hearty (to say the least).
      http://www.foodforlife.com/our-products/ezekiel-49

      • Jennifer says:

        I have heard of that bread but haven’t actually eaten any. I do alot of baking with spelt flour which is supposed to be healthier for you as well. I have never heard of the GAPS diet, I will have to look into that. I really want to do a cleanse of some sort but with always being pregnant and nursing within the last 3 years I have to be really careful about what I do along those lines. I am hoping that when Audra is done nursing I can avoind getting pregnant for awhile!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Confessions of a Sugarholic at The Finicky Designer.

meta

