Sweet Sunday

June 24, 2012 § 3 Comments

For today’s Sweet Sunday, I’m going to share with you a pretty darn sweet snack- Yogurt. Yes, I finally got to use my new yogurt maker. It’s super easy, and while I’m not entirely pleased with the texture (whole milk wasn’t quite thick enough for my liking), I discovered that Royal Crest makes a rich and creamy milk used especially for cooking which I can’t wait to get my hands on!

– 1.3 liters of whole milk

– 5 grams of yogurt cultures

(Yep, that’s it!)

I boiled my milk in a pot until it started climbing the sides- this ensures a thicker yogurt vs. a more European yogurt that you drink. Set the pot of milk in a sink of cold water to cool the milk to room temp. Mix one cup of the luke warm milk in with your 5 grams of culture, then whisk the one cup into the rest of the milk and pour into the yogurt maker’s glass jars. Stick the jars onto your yogurt maker, turn it on, and check back in eight hours. That’s it! I also made some strawberry jam with sugarless pectine and honey that I’ll stir into my yogurt for flavor. Yum!

ImageImageImage

My homemade strawberry jam wasn’t interesting enough to share, but if you’d like to check it out for yourself, it’s really quick and easy! I just substituted the 1 cup of sugar with 3/4 cup of raw honey in order to avoid the processed sugars. Bread Machine Jam!

Ah, how sweet.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Sweet Sunday

  • Jennifer says:

    You are awesome! We drink milk straight from the cow, so I wonder if that would make it thicker. I have wanted a yogurt maker for some time. Where did you get yours? I don’t eat yogurt but the rest of my family does. The kids love plain yogurt with homemade jam mixed in.

    • I got mine on Amazon for $30. Not too bad, and I bought cultures for the yogurt from our Natural Grocers just down the road, 6 batches for only $4. There’s some great options online that I can’t wait to try- http://www.culturesforhealth.com/mild-flavored-yogurt-starter.html. They’re available on Amazon as well. I’m sure milk right from the cow would be amazing for yogurt! So jealous. 🙂

      • Jennifer says:

        I will have to look into getting myself one, that is not a bad price. Would be way cheaper than buying yogurt all the time. I usually buy the kids stoneyfield and it is a little on the high end in price.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sweet Sunday at The Finicky Designer.

meta

