Sweet Sunday

July 1, 2012 § 1 Comment

As of today, John and I are off of our no sugar diet! I know, we only did it for just over two weeks, cheated by baking with raw honey, and even had a few breakdowns where we consumed some poor processed sugary treats… but overall it was a good experience, and has trained me to substitute better sweet ingredients for processed, refined sugars. Withdrawing from large amounts of sugars has also made us more sensitive to things with sugar in it. For example, the other night I made a delicious quiche (and actually made it moist, not dry), but became lazy and purchased a frozen pre-made pie shell. I’ve used these pie shells before, and yet never noticed how SWEET they are! Both John and I kind of choked over the sugar in it. So, our eyes have been opened, we’ve changed our lifestyle and the way I bake, and now it’s time for an amazing recipe that I had to use white sugar in, because I kind of ran out of raw honey. It wasn’t too much though, and I figured it was almost like a celebratory notion.

Lemon Blueberry Cream Cheese Cookies
(yes, you read that right)

Source: HotPolkaDot.com from my Pinterest

1 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
1 cup granulated sugar (I used 1/4 cup of honey, and almost about 3/4 cup sugar)
3 tbsp lemon juice (I left out lemon zest because John isn’t a huge fan of lemon)
2 eggs

1/2 tsp vanilla (I added this because I love vanilla)

1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
3 cups flour
1 cup blueberries

1/2 pkg cream cheese, cut into 1 tsp cubes

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a large bowl with an electric mixer, cream together the butter and sugar until it’s light and fluffy. Blend in the lemon juice, eggs, and vanilla.

In a separate bowl whisk together the baking soda, baking powder, salt and flour then mix it into the wet ingredients. Gently fold in the blueberries so as not to burst any. Refrigerate the dough for about 15 – 20 minutes to make it stiff enough to roll.

Roll cookies into tablespoon size balls and fold cube of cream cheese into the center, covering the cream cheese completely. Place on cookie sheet, bake 12-14 minutes or until lightly browned. Let cool on rack.

Lemon Blueberry Cream Cheese Cookie Steps

Lemon Blueberry Cream Cheese Cookie Steps

John LOVES them. I LOVE them. And, I loved the cookie dough, the part BEFORE the flour goes into it. It’s like a twist of lemon and vanilla to the usual sugary, buttery goodness. Oy, yum.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Sweet Sunday

  • Jennifer says:

    Good for you guys! Its amazing how things you thought you just had to have don’t have the same appeal when you’ve gone without them. You made me want to eat one of those cookies! I think I am going to have to make those very soon!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sweet Sunday at The Finicky Designer.

meta

