Aesthetic Thursday

August 9, 2012 § Leave a comment

I’m back! And even though we leave for vacation in two weeks, I’m determined to blog right through it.

As a designer, it’s essential to use the Pantone Color Matching System (PMS). For those of you that don’t know what in the world that is, let me sum it up for you. (Watch out- it’s about to get pretty nerdy.)

Color is almost never consistent. The color I see on my screen is probably different than the color you see on yours. When I print something at my office, it looks completely different than when I print something at home. And unfortunately more often than not, when I print a logo onto a letterhead, the color on the letterhead appears completely different than when I print it on a business card. How color appears on screens and between printers mostly has to do with how the devices are calibrated, but thankfully our problem of the color changing between materials and print pieces can be resolved with a standardized color matching system, the Pantone Color Matching System. Each color has a number, and the letter after the number refers to the type of media the color is being printed on. For example, my logo, which is color 3005, is going to be printed onto a matte, plain piece of paper. Therefore, I make the Pantone color of my logo 3005U (U standing for uncoated). What’s so awesome about the PMS system is that there’s a complete reference guide (swatch books) of each and every Pantone color and how each color appears on different types of media. It also shows you how to covert a Pantone color into CMYK format, which is very helpful when dealing with four color projects. None of that may have made any sense to you, but if you’re almost as nerdy as me and would like to learn more (or drop $1,000 on your own Pantone color system swatch books), you can find out more about it here. There’s 2100 colors in the Pantone system currently, but they’re always finding new colors to add.

If you couldn’t tell, I sort of love Pantone and am amazed at their color system. With that, I thought I’d share a few geeky Pantone favorites.

1. The complete library. Unfortunately, I don’t yet own my own set of Pantone swatch books, and this- this is the ultimate collection.

2. Pantone accessories. You must show your nerdy side in public at times.

3. Pantone App. Create Pantone color palettes and be inspired- all of the time.

4. Pantone style for the home.

Love Pantone yet?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Aesthetic Thursday at The Finicky Designer.

meta

