Sweet Sunday- Apple Butter

August 12, 2012 § 1 Comment

Oh, for a late, rushed blog post. Busy, busy day- but alas, something sweet and edible came from it. Actually quite a few yummy things rolled out of my new kitchen this week, including some plum jam. Best. Yet.

Apple Butter

Call me jumping the autumn gun early here, but the apples at the market have been looking better and better by the week, and I figured if I got my trial runs done now, in fall I’d actually be able to make some batches as gifts and what not. This trial run was pretty darn good, though, I’ll admit. I made the crock-pot apple butter that’s been going around Pinterest. I’m all for some easy crock pot goodness.

1 dozen apples

1/2 cup of water (I used a little less because my apples were a bit watery)

1/4 cup of brown sugar (I used a little less, and added some honey)

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp allspice

Peel, core, and chop up all of your apples. Place them in your crock-pot and toss with water, sugar, and spices. Turn your crock-pot on low and let them cook over night. I left mine on low for almost about 12 hours. Turn your crock-pot to high and let them cook until caramelized. This is the difference between apple sauce, and apple butter. If it doesn’t appear caramelly (so not a word), keep cooking them! To make the apple butter smooth, blend in an immersion blender, or just do what I did and use your hand blender.

I tried a spoonful of it and it seems pretty great. I’ll try it on some toast in the morning and let you know just how amazing it is and if I experience a little bit of autumn-ness.

As a bonus, I whipped up some breakfast sandwiches- a step away from the sugar breakfast items and back into a boost of protein! Wrapped, frozen, and ready for our consumption this week.

I’m a bit thankful I’m done in the kitchen for the evening. Too much cooking and baking, not quite enough relaxing.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Sweet Sunday- Apple Butter

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sweet Sunday- Apple Butter at The Finicky Designer.

meta

