Sweet Sunday

August 19, 2012 § Leave a comment

Bread Machine Plum Jam

5 ripe dark red plums

3/4 cup raw honey

Squeeze of lemon juice

1 tbsp pectin

Slice the plums with their skins into sections. Put into a food processor and blend until smooth. In the basin of a bread machine, stir together plums, honey, and pectin. Close lid. Set bread machine to jam cycle. When complete, let cool for 5 minutes then pour into a mason/canning jar. Let it firm up in the fridge. Store in the refrigerator when not in use. (Not quite sure how long it keeps for. From what I hear, as long as you store it properly, homemade jam keeps for a very long time. It’s never been around the house long enough for us to find out when it goes bad!)

It makes about half a jar- I took this photo after it was used for several sandwiches.

I’d like to say that I make jam in my bread machine because it’s the best way; honestly though, I just do it because I don’t have time (right now) to can. And when it’s a Sunday night and I feel like whipping up some PB&J’s, canning just isn’t a reasonable solution. I was nervous about the plum jam because the plums were a tiny bit tart still, and the skin in the processed fruit looked strange. But man, I’d just about have to say that it’s my favorite jam I’ve made so far. It’s great too because it’s a beautiful bright red-pink color! There’s something about bright colors that make food all that more delicious.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sweet Sunday at The Finicky Designer.

meta

