Sweet Sunday- Banana Bread Muffins

September 9, 2012 § 4 Comments

A few weeks ago I froze some black bananas for a future banana bread recipe. We – LOVE – banana bread. However, with us still remaining very sugar and processed flour conscious, I had to find/make up a good recipe. We decided these would be considered “dessert” therefore what sugar they do have in them is acceptable.

Healthy Banana Bread Muffins

3 large ripe bananas

1/3 cup safflower oil (more on safflower oil below)

1 1/2 tsp vanilla

1/4 cup brown sugar in the raw

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour (I did half whole wheat and half coconut flour to lessen the wheat product for my husband)

1 1/2 tsp cinnamon

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a large bowl, mash together banana, oil, vanilla, and brown sugar until well mixed. Mash it until you reach the consistency you desire (I left mine a little chunky which turned out great). In a small bowl, whisk together flour, cinnamon, baking powder, baking soda, and salt until well mixed. Fold together the dry ingredients into the banana mixture with a spatula until combined. Do not over mix! Grease a 12 count muffin pan and evenly distribute batter. They will rise, so be careful not to fill it past 3/4 full. Sprinkle additional brown sugar on top if desired. Bake for 15-18 minutes. Enjoy.

Now, why safflower oil? It’s my new found secret (that technically my mom told me about months ago, but I didn’t immediately embrace).

Note: This particular bottle of safflower oil is refined for high heat. Either refined or unrefined is just fine.

To sum it up, safflower oil comes from the safflower plant and is linked to improving heart health, maintaining healthy skin and hair, and losing weight (ding, ding, ding!). While better for you than most other oils, it’s also more expensive (big surprise), so I use it in moderation but feel really good when I do! To read a little more about it, go here. Also, just in case you’re a Dr. Oz fan, he strongly recommends safflower oil and even claims that a study showed that safflower oil burned a significant amount of abdominal fat when taken over a 16 week period. So- check it out for yourself.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Sweet Sunday- Banana Bread Muffins

  • wartica says:

    Thanks for the healthy alternative to most high-fat sugar-based banana breads; will have to check this out ASAP:)

    jonwatersauthor.com

    • I posted this before I actually got to try one- and I will say, these turned out excellent. Moist and completely flavorful. My husband actually said he preferred it to the usual banana bread I that I use to make. I could see this easily being turned into a loaf as well. Thanks for the comment!

  • Jennifer says:

    These sound good! Safflower Oil is super good for you! Have you ever tried Spelt flour? I use it for most all my baking. Just a thought if you want to get away from wheat flour.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sweet Sunday- Banana Bread Muffins at The Finicky Designer.

meta

