Sweet Sunday- Pumpkin Cream Cheese Muffins

September 25, 2012 § 3 Comments

I know, I know- it’s most definitely NOT Sunday. But I am still fighting this dang cold, and while I was able to bring myself around enough to do some baking (ON Sunday), it isn’t until now that I’m feeling up to sharing it. This is actually just a Pinterest recipe I found. It seems pretty popular, so most of you may already know about it. I thought it was appropriate to welcome in Fall.

I only made the usual revisions: Stevia/honey instead of sugar, coconut flour instead of wheat flour, and applesauce instead of oil.

Taken in it’s entirety from See Brooke Cook:

Pumpkin Cream Cheese Muffins

See Brooke Cook- Pumpkin Cream Cheese Muffins

For the filling:
8 oz cream cheese, softened (I used light)
1 cup confectioners’ sugarFor the muffins:
3 cups white-wheat/all-purpose flour
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp ground nutmeg
1 tsp ground cloves
1 Tbsp plus 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
1 tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda
4 large eggs
2 cups sugar
2 cups pumpkin puree
1¼ cups vegetable oil (or applesauce, I used half of each)

Directions:
To prepare the filling, combine the cream cheese and confectioners’ sugar in a medium bowl and mix well until blended and smooth. Refrigerate the mixture while you make the muffins to allow it to cool and thicken slightly.

For the muffins, preheat your oven to 350˚ F and line or spray your muffin pans. In a medium bowl, combine the flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, pumpkin pie spice, salt and baking soda then whisk to blend. In a large bowl using an electric mixer on medium-low speed combine the eggs, sugar, pumpkin puree and oil until blended. Turn the mixer to low and add in the dry ingredients, mix just until incorporated.
Fill each muffin pan with just enough batter to cover the bottom of each well (about 1-2 tablespoons). Scoop a small amount of the cream cheese mixture into each muffin well, then top each with the remaining batter, covering the cream cheese completely.
Bake for 20-25 minutes (30-35 for large muffins). Transfer to a wire rack and let cool completely before serving. It may be tempting to eat them hot from the oven, but the cream cheese will be extremely hot, patience is a virtue.
Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Sweet Sunday- Pumpkin Cream Cheese Muffins

  • sunshinemac says:

    Reblogged this on Create By Craft and commented:
    I liked this recipe, especially the middle treat. Perfect for upcoming Halloween. Thanks for the share.

  • Jennifer says:

    These sound good! I pinned them as well and maybe I will make them some day. Did you use stevia or honey?

  • I actually used entirely stevia, which I normally do not do. But guess what? It’s leaving a funny aftertaste in my mouth. I thought it might have been the use of the coconut flour at first, but then I tried my jam which I used only stevia in this time as well. Same funny after taste. I’m afraid I’m going to have to stick with using half stevia, half honey simply because I can tell a difference!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sweet Sunday- Pumpkin Cream Cheese Muffins at The Finicky Designer.

meta

