Cider, Snow, and Spicy Lattes

October 25, 2012 § 2 Comments

Sunday was busy. Very busy. So I decided to do some baking mid-week. This week I’ll share directly from the source because I really didn’t make any changes to the recipes. That, and their photos are way more delicious looking than my photos; so I’ll let them do the talking for me.

Let’s start with Tuesday. Came home, warmed up some pretty-darn-good leftover homemade potato soup, set the husband (note: I will be referring to my husband as “the husband” in this post for sarcastic and slightly snarky* reasons) to task on cleaning out our pumpkin, and prepped to do some baking. Let me start with the pumpkin.


We decided to do a very Pinteresty pumpkin carving with cookie cutters. Fun and fall-like, right? Leaves, turkey, and pumpkin shapes. Classy- until the husband decides to arrange three of the shapes in such a way that it portrays a face. Classy Pinterest pumpkin is now scary, sad, and slightly creepy pumpkin. Thanks to- the husband.

Oh no! It’s snow! (*laughs with self*)

Culinary Concoctions by Peabody *click for recipe*

Then, I baked an Apple Cider Pound Cake with Caramel Glaze. An entire loaf was GONE within a few hours at the husband’s office and a half a loaf was gone within an hour at mine. Several people asked for the recipe and I added this to my list of favorites. If you truly love apple cider and baked goods, you shall truly love this treat.

Then last night it snowed! A whopping 3-4 inches of fantastic frigid powder. Made for some pretty morning mountains:

The husband and I truly love snow. Our philosophy is that if it’s going to be cold, something might as well come from it! You should have seen us last night (for my facebook friends, you saw the husband last night- PJ pants, t-shirt, SNOW). It could have been Christmas morning we were so excited for the fluffy white specks falling from the sky. It was also our first snow storm in our new home which made it all the more exciting and wonderful. Due to the snow and brisk 20 degree morning, I found it appropriate to whip us up some pumpkin spice lattes. Cue recipe #2:

Farmgirl Gourmet *click for recipe*

Word of caution on the lattes: don’t go pumpkin puree crazy. I thought to myself why not add twice as much pumpkin? Wouldn’t that be twice as delicious? I ended up almost chewing my pumpkin latte with very little coffee and spice. Oh, coffee and spice, how I long for your taste.
Welcome, cold fall, welcome.
*Concerning the word snarky: a new favorite of mine thanks to the co-worker I sit next to. Thanks, Kate!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Cider, Snow, and Spicy Lattes

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cider, Snow, and Spicy Lattes at The Finicky Designer.

meta

