Whole30: Week 3 Recap

March 22, 2013 § Leave a comment

Most challenging part of the week: More cheating! Noooo! This week was tough, and I learned something about myself: I self-medicate with sugar (great, right?). I had a super difficult day at work this past week, as did my husband, so I surprised him after work on Friday and took him out for DESSERT. It was pretty darn good, and almost set us up for failure the rest of the week. I brought my husband home some peanut butter cookies from work, then on my nephew’s birthday I had a large helping of cake. It was pretty divine, and I haven’t totally fallen off the horse (according to me, and not the Whole30 people from above).

This week’s guilty pleasures: Trail Mix- again. Eating my trail mix has literally become the favorite part of my day. Weird.

This week’s favorite meal: Open faced apple bacon burgers. My husband barbequed up some burgers, topped them with red onion, bacon, apple slices, and about a tablespoon of homemade mayo. Y-U-M.

How I’m feeling this week: Regular, in many ways. As I said last week, eating this way has become more normal and just feels right. My digestive tract is also still singing the hallelujah chorus as are my energy levels. I’ve been doing YOGA twice a day… TWICE. I barely pulled myself out of bed for YOGA once a day, before. Surely it’s the diet. Surely.

Why this week is going to be even better than last week: IT’S THE LAST WEEK. My husband and I have talked it through and already making plans for how we’re going to eat post Whole30. To recap some of the most important issues: Pasta will become a rare treat, carbs will be consumed at lunch (not dinner when we have no time to burn it), having a light dessert every evening isn’t a bad thing, more meat in our diets is essential (for us), and our snacks should regularly consist of fruits, nuts, and veggies

Note: I’ve decided once all of this is said and done, I WILL be posting our entire Whole30 menu on my blog. I’ll also be posting all of my own Whole30 recipes on my blog, and the recipes that aren’t my own will be able to be found on my Pinterest page. So look out for it sometime in the beginning of April!

My favorite things:

Didn't take really any photos this week, which is obvious, but that first photo there is of my Paleo Veggie Chili topped with fresh sliced avocado. Had it for lunches and it was amazing. That last photo is just of my awesome new Pantone color swatch books that I'm way too excited over.

Didn’t take really any photos this week, which is obvious, but that first photo is of my Paleo Veggie Chili topped with fresh sliced avocado. Had it for lunches and it was amazing. That last photo is just of my awesome new Pantone color swatch books that I’m way too excited over.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Whole30: Week 3 Recap at The Finicky Designer.

meta

