Whole30: Last Week Recap

March 30, 2013 § Leave a comment

Most challenging part of the week: Giving in because I’m just days away from the end. What does it matter that I hold out a few more days to start eating sugar again? I mean, really? That little voice in my head has gotten louder this past week, but thankfully my body is fighting back. Every time I have given in, I haven’t felt good afterward. It’s removing my cravings more, and more, and more. But what I’ve come to realize is that I love ice cream; that’s one thing I can’t get off my mind. So post-Whole30, I’ve decided that a sweet bowl of ice cream every evening as I’m watching tv will be my ideal wind-down time, my give-in time, my indulge and enjoy time. And I don’t think there’s anything wrong with that!

This week’s guilty pleasures: Fried Cinnamon Apples. Once I actually make myself peel the apples, slice them, then fry them up- I’m never disappointed! Ah, their sweet cinnamon goodness…

This week’s favorite meal: Bacon wrapped chicken breasts with mashed cinnamon sweet potatoes. You all probably know that I’m rather hooked on sweet potatoes- but I had yet to make mashed ones. They were a perfect accompaniment to some baked chicken wrapped in bacon. Ah, it was delicious.

How I’m feeling this week: Really good! And really bad! When I stay on track and eat lots of veggies, meats, and fruits, I feel like a rock-star! My energy levels are up, I’m sleeping very soundly (which hasn’t happened in a very long time), and my stomach is FLAT. Not just flat as in- no fat. Flat as in- not bloated, firm, trim… I like it. I also feel really bad, however, when I veer off course. I can’t bring myself to confess what I ate on Sunday, but let’s just say it was something “fast” and “easy” and something we grabbed conveniently after church. The rest of the afternoon was toast for me- felt sick to my stomach and… things… happened… that I’d rather not go into detail over.

Why this week is going to be even better than last week: This week I get to eat bread? Eh, in all reality, it’s going to be better because we’re actually going to start making real decisions to incorporate into our everyday life. It’s no longer about a temporary cleanse, it’s about a lifestyle change and the maintaining of healthy habits. While our Whole30 is supposed to go through today, we’re going to cut it short by a day. My husband and I decided we want an Easter meal of our own at home, so we’ll be making the works today (already have the majority of it started) as well as dying Easter eggs. I’ll start the day with some Paleo waffles and pure maple syrup; dinner will consist of ham, scalloped potatoes, cream corn, salad, and homemade rolls; then for dessert we’re going to have a homemade carrot cake with cream cheese frosting. I. Can’t. Wait.

My favorite things:

Paleo meatballs over zucchini "noodles." Note to self: Next time buy something that can julienne as your flat peeled "noodles" were rather strange. Ah, and then there's my bright pink raspberry tea- the bit of caffeine I receive when not drinking coffee in the morning. And last but not least, organic pure maple syrup in my attempt to introduce sugar back into our diets- the healthy way!

Paleo meatballs over zucchini “noodles.” Note to self: Next time buy something that can julienne as your flat peeled “noodles” were rather strange. Ah, and then there’s my bright pink raspberry tea- the bit of caffeine I receive when not drinking coffee in the morning. And last but not least, organic pure maple syrup in my attempt to introduce sugar back into our diets- the healthy way!

This next week I’ll be posting my menus and recipes- but first I’ll be posting some snap shots of our Easter meal today. Oh, I can already smell the carrot cake baking. Mmmmm….

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Whole30: Last Week Recap at The Finicky Designer.

meta

