Pretty in Orchid

February 22, 2014 § Leave a comment

As I’m sure most of you have heard by now, the 2014 Pantone color of the year is…

Pantone Color of the Year- Radiant Orchid

Yes! Radiant Orchid! And can we all just take a moment to sigh in its beautiful femininity? *ahhhh* I’ll admit, the color has undergone quite a bit of criticism with plenty of purple party poopers ripping on its… purpleness. Does anyone else think “Effie Trinket?”

BUT, all of the criticism aside- there’s something so refreshing to me about this color. I’ve always gravitated towards purple- but usually only rich, deep purples. Purples that almost appear more black than they do purple. So to be introduced to a light purple that I actually like- it’s a big deal for me. So here are some of my very favorite things I’ve run across in Radiant Orchid:

Decor- when done right. Follow the link for radiant orchid decorating tips.

Decor- when done right. Follow the link for radiant orchid decorating tips.

Beautiful gradient lace necklace- from radiant orchid to white.

Beautiful gradient lace necklace- from radiant orchid to white.

Radiant Orchid Style

Style. I love clothes in this vibrant color.

Of course, nature. Who does color better than God?

Of course, nature. Who does color better than God?

Radiant Orchid flowers in a jar

And completely impractical hair. If I was a mermaid, this is what my hair would look like.

And then there’s completely impractical hair. If I was a mermaid, this is what my hair would look like.

 

Weddings! So pure, so lovely- and this color is the best in ombre.

Weddings! So pure, so lovely- and this color is the best in ombre.

Radiant orchid bridesmaid flowers

Radiant Orchid wedding inspiration

Makeup- when done well. These are my lips... in a dream.

Makeup- when done well. These are my lips… in a dream.

 

And food? Sure. There are those talented enough to make radiant orchid delicious...

And food? Sure. There are those talented enough to make radiant orchid delicious…

Radiant orchid macaroons

So, what are your thoughts on Radiant Orchid in 2014 so far? Yay or nay?

Wow, right now I feel so… girly.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pretty in Orchid at The Finicky Designer.

meta

